a wish to build a dream on

May 21, 2011 at 9:59 pm Leave a comment

Writer’s have something they want to share with the world, and this author is going for it with all she has. Michelle Hoover, author of The Quickening, will be taking a year off from her career to write. She lives on a single income, and this is why I find this idea so inspiring. You can read her interview with Sharon Bially here: http://veronicas-nap.com/backstory/women-creating-success-michelle-hoover/

I wonder what it would be like to take a year and focus on writing. For me it would be quite impossible as I have toddlers, whom I am mommy to full time. Then I begin thinking of my attention span (or lack thereof). It’s really barely holding on by a thread.

One example of this being last night, while my dear husband and I were relishing a quiet house (interspursed with the pitter-patter and meowing of kittens). I recently finished reading The Devil in the White City, and had shared each interesting fact with my oh so patient husband. He was now taking a rare, and well deserved hour to peruse this amazing work of nonfiction. I was finally reading Water for Elephants, which I find entertaining. Even while enjoying my book, I continually looked over at him and shared what was on my mind. “What have you read about so far?” “Don’t forget, tomorrow…” “Oh, and I was thinking…”

Later, I made the comment about how much he had read in such a short amount of time. In kind, he said, “If you would actually read…” So true. If I didn’t chatter, get up hundreds of times to to the bathroom, get a drink of water, write something on a sticky note so I wouldn’t forget it later, check on twitter to see how my platform is growing (or dissolving), I would get a lot more read. Or written.

I get distracted easily, I lack anything resembling an attention span. So when I think of taking a “sabbatical”to write (even though it’s virtually impossible), I have this deep seated feeling it might not work very well.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

a lesson in encouragement 101 a tornado and the end of the world

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tracy Dee Whitt - Author

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

link
<

blog archive


