just a little closer

June 4, 2011 at 9:40 am Leave a comment

I love nature, and when time allows and the perfect moment affords itself, I enjoy capturing it on my camera. I do not study butterflies, but I believe this is a Zebra Swallowtail (feel free to correct me if I am wrong). He (since it is missing part of its tail, I will assume it’s a male and was in a vicious fight with another Swallowtail, probably defending his territory, or protecting his wife from other ferocious beasts) was hanging out on our hanging basket of pink Verbena. It seemed to be lingering longer than his ancestors did, so I ran inside to grab my camera. It never fails that when I do, they flutter off as soon as I have one in hand. This guy was still hanging tight when I returned. He ruffled his wings constantly and looked for a new place to gather nectar, but he stayed on the basket. I took seven pictures, but these are the only two that were any where near good enough to post. At one point I was able to get a few of his legs on my finger (really I did!). My husband grabbed the camera (which I had put down, thinking there couldn’t be a better photo op). I said, “No way.” I didn’t want to take away from the beauty of the moment. I was ecstatic that nature leant me that small, but meaningful opportunity. Just call me “the butterfly whisperer.”=)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

a vacation to Ouray, Colorado (post #3) Will Write for Food

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tracy Dee Whitt - Author

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

link
<

blog archive


