it’s a turtles race – the writing life

September 8, 2011 at 2:20 pm 2 comments

My husband thinks I’m a slow driver. Although he’s encouraging in most areas of my life, he has no problem telling me this.  In fact, he tells me I am slow in everything I do. It’s true. I am. But I like to define it as “precise”. I have an aversion to doing things twice. I will do many things, but rushing through something so I can turn around and redo it? No thank you. For example I like to wait until all the leaves have fallen off the trees in autumn, so I don’t have to rake more than once. Unless of course I took the healthier point of view and did it for exercise. And why would I do that?

Yes, I write most WIP's long hand, and that makes it even SLOWER.

In my writing I am slow, usually pondering over every word, every sentence, punctuation, and paragraph. This is true mainly when it comes to writing everything except my blog (sorry dear friends). I strongly dislike editing, so if I can keep from making mistakes, I strive to do so. It comes back to doing everything twice. Sadly when it comes to the writing life it takes multiple do-overs before something is good enough to submit to an editor. Or so I’ve heard.
If you’re a writer, do you enjoy the editing process? For everyone: Are you quick in completing tasks, not over-worrying about the outcome?  Or are you more methodical in carrying out your responsibilities?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

7 tips on how to make it through college 101 mountain top R&R

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. heidi brown  |  September 17, 2011 at 8:34 am

    You probably know this from school days but I like to do everything quickly…especially reading and writing! So funny how God made us all different!

    Reply
    • 2. lovinadoptin  |  September 17, 2011 at 10:49 am

      So true. My excuse for not speed reading is that i want to soak up every word. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tracy Dee Whitt - Author

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

link
<

blog archive


