existence is futile without a goal

February 18, 2012 at 7:56 pm Leave a comment

Wow, it’s been a long time. Like an old friend you haven’t talked to in a while. When you finally see each other things start off slow and then, hopefully, you are back to where you were before you parted ways.
At some point after starting my blog, I devised a plan to write three blog posts every week. After all, this is what the experts advise. Ahhh, the experts. Sometimes the experts advice isn’t the advice that’s right for you, or I. We all live very diverse lives, and what works for one may not work for the other. I found that as a writer, it was taking too much of my time to come up with blog ideas, write them, edit them, and also have adequate time for my family and other writing pursuits.
So, the logical step? I dropped my blog. I didn’t worry about it any longer. I suppose that’s obvious. In the beginning, part of the reason for creating a blog was to gain readership, so that in the future I could share my love of the written word. I realized that if I don’t have any words (big projects) to share, there is no point in having a readership.
I began to think more about what I wanted to do as a writer. I want to write, and if something is taking away the joy of doing so, is it worth it? Thankfully I didn’t have a large following that got dumped on their heads when I took a long hiatus. If that were so, I would have greatly damaged my name, and possibly my future career.
For today, I am back, and I have no idea how often I will post. It’s nice to be here, to write something short that shares a glimpse into my writing life. Because in the end, that’s what this is. A place to share what it’s like to be a writer, and an author, hopefully with some regular life thrown in.
‘Till we read together again…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

mountain top R&R Guests of Waverly (flash fiction)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tracy Dee Whitt - Author

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

link
<

blog archive


