doorbells bring holiday sneers (flash fiction)

March 1, 2012 at 1:58 pm 2 comments

photo courtesy of: stock.xchng - Neo-classical doors II

doorbells bring holiday sneers

The doorbell rang, my daughter went sliding across the wood floor.

“Got it!” Her enthusiasm reverberated through the house. “Got it! My cousins are heeeerrrre!” Camry flung the door open. “You’re here. Finally.”

My sister-in-law nodded. “Mmm – hmmm.”

Her kids ran past me, pushing me out of the way while my “Hello’s” went unnoticed. Shelly dropped everyone’s bags in the entryway.

“Here. I’ll help you with those.” I slipped several handles over my arms.

“Ugh, she makes me so mad. All I wanted to do was get settled in our rooms, let the kids run around. They were stuck in a car for three hours. Three hours! She just doesn’t get it. She always wants to do her thing, her way!”

“Okay…” I had no idea what to say. Shelly got along fabulously with her mom when she wasn’t in the same town, and if I joined this rant, I’d have hell to pay later.

“What room are we in?”

“Just down the hall.” I led the way.

“Is it next to the bathroom? Because I know how old houses have noisy plumbing… it keeps me up and I can’t lose sleep. Ugh, then my kids climb in my bed, and I hate that.”

“Right. Well, the plumbing shouldn’t be a problem unless you plug the toilet. Then noise won’t be an issue.” I set their luggage down as nicely as I could and headed for my bedroom.

Quietly I closed the door, leaned against it and took a deep breath. I walked to the tall window that overlooked a thick forest of pine, and reminded myself to focus on what the holiday meant, and that I had my immediate family to celebrate it with.

Then ever so gently the snow began to fall.

——-

This came from a Write on Edge prompt: Red Writing Hood – The Doorbell
Craft a piece of fiction around the holiday season. Begin the piece with “The doorbell rang,” and end with “snow began to fall.” The middle is up to you.
The entire thing should be under 300 words.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

cauterized word count (blog post) Dusseldorf’s Secrets (flash fiction)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brenda Evers  |  March 1, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    You have my interest with the sister-in-law. Good details, good suspense. Good start.

    Reply
    • 2. WordsfromTracy  |  March 1, 2012 at 10:06 pm

      My characters are usually entirely fictional, but this one really is interesting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tracy Dee Whitt - Author

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

link
<

blog archive


