Dusseldorf’s Secrets (flash fiction)

March 2, 2012 at 8:37 am 10 comments

the Cologne - courtesy of http://www.sxc.hu

Dusseldorf’s Secrets

It was a rainy night in Dusseldorf, Germany; muted lighting played off the sidewalk,  making for a romantic stroll. Izaak’s fingers laced through Edy’s as peaceful feelings eased through her for the first time in weeks.
Izaak leaned over and spoke close to her ear. “Where would you like to go after dinner?”
Edy watched as a man in a long black coat stared at her from behind his glasses. She  recognized him by his gray hair and striped tie. No matter how much money he made, he always wore the same tie. It was Gerhard Richter. Edy hadn’t seen him in months, but she couldn’t forget he had made her life a living hell. A smirk crossed his usually solemn face, and he was gone.
“Edy? Did you hear me sweetheart?” Izaak wondered if she could hear him above the rains constant pattering. “I asked where you would like to go after Zum Schlussel?”
“Yeah… ummm.”
“Are you okay?” Izaak had stopped walking now, the awning above them kept the incessant deluge of water from pouring off the oversized umbrella.
Edy’s eyes avoided his, and she adjusted her coat. She thought she could keep this from him, but she thought of the day he might find out on his own. Possibly run into Gerhard Richter himself, and what then? Gerhard wouldn’t keep silent.
“Did you see Gerhard Richter pass us just moments ago?” Edy slumped back against the brick wall.
“No. Do you mean the artist, Gerhard?”
“Yes, the artist.”
“And what has your mind so preoccupied with his passing by on the street?” Izaak asked.
“He holds my family’s story in his hands.”
Izaak was amused. “You knew Gerhard?”
“All too well.”
“Zum Schlussel isn’t much farther.” Izaak gently pulled her forward, hoping Edy would tell him why the sight of that man had so upset her.

———–

The hum of voices in the pub was worse than the pattering rain. Izaak slid across the small booth, sitting close to Edy. “Tell me about Gerhard.”
“I told you my father owned a gallery until a few years ago.”
Izaak nodded, and took a drink beer.
“Gerhard is the reason it no longer exists.” Edy ran her fingers through her long wavy hair. “He blamed my father for turning the Cologne Cathedral to another artist for their stained glass window, when in fact he was the sole craftsman that the Cathedral had ever considered.” Edy banged her fist on the table. “My father did no such thing. Gerhard received the commission in the end. But before that, he destroyed my father’s business and our family.”
Izaak had met Edy just months after her father had lost his gallery. “Why would he do such a thing?”
“Gerhard is ruthless. He sees only himself, and this makes him blind.” Edy used the edge of her napkin to wipe the tear that slid down her cheek.

———

This prompt is from Write on Edge: Red Writing Hood

I challenge you with this opening line:

“It was a rainy night in Dusseldorf…”

You have 500 words.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

doorbells bring holiday sneers (flash fiction) Once, Twice, Three Times a Lady (flash fiction)

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brendab  |  March 2, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    Once again, your story set me up: I want to know more.
    Good lead in to the conflict, and telling just enough to whet my interest. Tell me more.

    Reply
    • 2. WordsfromTracy  |  March 2, 2012 at 1:12 pm

      Thank you Brenda, your comments are so encouraging! It has taken me a long time to get up the nerve to post stories on my blog. It’s fun writing the short ones. Did you write anything suing this prompt?

      Reply
      • 3. Brenda Evers  |  March 6, 2012 at 8:28 pm

        Yes, I did. Check my posting on Write On Edge.
        Like you, I feel these short prompt are fun. I especially like the memoir prompts–the coffee and the broken object ones. They are helping me write creative non-fiction, which I think is the form I want to pursue.
        I need your help. I don’t know how to link my stories to Write on Edge without linking my entire blog. Or how to attach pictures.
        You do both of those talents. Could you teach me sometime. . . soon?

      • 4. WordsfromTracy  |  March 6, 2012 at 9:01 pm

        I don’t know if I can help you, but I will give it my best shot. Let’s get together on Saturday after TLWH if that works for you.

  • 5. lexy3587  |  March 2, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    really liked reading this – there’s so much backstory and emotion in it.

    Reply
    • 6. WordsfromTracy  |  March 2, 2012 at 2:05 pm

      Thank you for stopping by, and for the kind comment.

      Reply
  • 7. angela  |  March 2, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    I love the small detail about him always wearing the same tie; I think it tells something about his character.

    Interesting beginning…do you plan to take it farther?

    Reply
    • 8. WordsfromTracy  |  March 2, 2012 at 2:07 pm

      Thanks Angela! I am thinking about expanding the story, but I run into the issue of having too many projects. Thank you for the comments and for stopping by!

      Reply
  • 9. Denise  |  March 2, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    Love the mystery. I agree with Angela about the tie. Small details make the biggest impact when it comes to characterization and imagery. Would love to learn more about Edy.

    Reply
    • 10. WordsfromTracy  |  March 3, 2012 at 2:36 pm

      Thank you Denise, I am so glad you came by.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tracy Dee Whitt - Author

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

link
<

blog archive


