The Year I Didn’t Care

July 12, 2012 at 3:29 pm 6 comments

Image

That was the year I didn’t care. The year when I ran free on the glen, the wind blowing my hair, creating tufts of rustled brown messes. I paid no heed to what it looked like. The breeze caught my skirt, making it swish around my waist. I cared not who saw. I felt the hot sun on my skin, soaking into my body, warming it like an oven warms delicious bread. The perspiration gathering at my brow did not embarrass me. I was free that year.
It all came before the shift. A divorce of magnitude. One caught up in the tabloids, one spoken about by every blog reading citizen. I was no longer free. The weight of the world’s eyes now hovered over my every move. What will she do? How will she handle this?
They need not have worried. In fact, they worried more than I. What I most despised, and remember most keenly to this day, is the freedom that I lost. I lost it with that last warm breeze. It slipped away with the kite as the wind snatched it out of my hands on that clear summer day. It escaped my reality as I watched my mother and father, standing on the edge of the veranda, gazing at me through darkened eyes. Something had changed.
I sit now, wondering if my skirt is covering my thighs, making sure my hair is in all the right places. Everyone is watching. I have lost my freedom.

———–

This flash fiction was created for Writer Unboxed “7 Days of Summer Flash Fiction Contest.” Write 250 words inspired by the visual prompt. (Todays story was not submitted for the contest, only created for my writing pleasure.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Once, Twice, Three Times a Lady (flash fiction) Smells Like Mom

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jdgarner68  |  July 12, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    yeh…makes me think of that song empty by ray lamontagne. If you don’t know it, maybe watch the lyrics video on youtube. Great post by the way.

    Reply
    • 2. WordsfromTracy  |  July 12, 2012 at 8:55 pm

      I haven’t heard the song before, but just looked up the lyrics. Interesting similarities. Thank you by the way.

      Reply
      • 3. jdgarner68  |  July 12, 2012 at 9:10 pm

        sorry, maybe not so much the lyrics were similar, but the mood…(i don’t know). But, good post anyway.

  • 4. Brenda Evers  |  July 13, 2012 at 12:35 am

    Strong storytelling, good imagery, especially in the line, ” I felt the hot sun on my skin, soaking into my body, warming it like an oven warms delicious bread” even with the double use of warm.

    Reply
  • 5. deborahweetman  |  July 13, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    I love the last 2 paragraphs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tracy Dee Whitt - Author

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

link
<

blog archive


