one man’s writing retreat

July 24, 2012 at 3:21 pm 4 comments

In a perfect writing world, I would head to the mountains for a few weeks. All alone, writing, reading, researching. Ah, but wait, I live in the real world. I live in a world with two precious children, and a devoted and loving husband. I would miss them dearly (just as I did during my recent trip to the Jackson Hole Writer’s Conference). I love my life. Sure, I wish I lived in the mountains, that I had more time to focus on my writing, but do I really need weeks or months alone to accomplish my goals? And more importantly, could I do it?
One of the debut authors highlighted in the most recent Writer’s Digest wrote his novel in two months. He spent the time at his parent’s lavender farm in Washington state while they were out of the country, and wrote.
Although I have mentioned how lovely a private weekend or week long writing retreat would be, staying any longer than that would send me clawing at the walls. I don’t like sitting for hours at a time. I fidget. I get distracted by shiny things, dull things, flat things, and round things.
When I shared this man’s story with my husband, I said, “I would need a stash of M&M’s, lots of water, gallons of coffee, I would take multiple trips to the bathroom, and I would stare out the window, wishing I was outside.” He was quick to remind me of a 7th grade boy I used to tutor. I would complain that he constantly sharpened his already nubby pencil, go to the bathroom, ask for more water than was necessary. It drove me nuts because I knew he was stalling. I thought he had issues, and it turns out we are a lot alike!

The idea of being alone for two months, with only my writing to focus on sounds a little appealing, but then I am reminded of who I am, and I know it would send me home crazier than I am to begin with.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Smells Like Mom Hidden

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brenda Evers  |  July 24, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    Hey, great post. I can identify. I thought when I retired I would TIME, Time, time to write, write, write. So, Wrong, wrong, wrong. I do write, but I go through all the traits you mention until I face deadline time. My bad. But you are awesome for going to a great workshop and writing this slice of life.

    Reply
    • 2. WordsfromTracy  |  July 25, 2012 at 10:26 am

      Thanks Brenda. Sometimes it’s so hard to do what, in the end, we love.

      Reply
  • 3. Barb  |  July 25, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    I just love reading your writing, Tracy. You are so down-to-earth but eloquent at the same time. And I can definitely relate, I can get distracted quite easily too.

    Reply
    • 4. WordsfromTracy  |  July 26, 2012 at 9:27 am

      That means so much Barb. Thank you. It is a distracting world isn’t it?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tracy Dee Whitt - Author

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

link
<

blog archive


